La vie est belle!

19 Dec

I’m Baaacckk! Lets dive right into it, shall we?

Acting talk:

I love to watch movies and take note of the acting that goes on. Obviously acting being my number one passion, it is important to me to do so. Recently I finally got the chance to watch the movie Monster with Charlize Theron. About a year ago I watched her Behind the Actor’s Studio episode and fell in love with her. She is unique like no other and has an immense acting ability. Good acting in Monster? TOTALLY YES YES! Charlize, you beyond brought it!



Animals are our friends.. We are all connected:

We’re headed into a magnificent new year. A lot of wonderful changes are coming.. wordly, spiritually, societal. It’s an exciting time to be alive!
For every thing on this planet! I’ve been a vegetarian on and off for 7 years, but about 99% on for the past 2 years. My goal is to start to live a more vegan lifestyle. Prior to officially becoming vegetarian, I ate meat pretty regularly, but just because it was there. But I never really enjoyed it. I was introduced to vegetarianism about 8 years ago by my older sister. It was a life changing event honestly. We read articles and saw videos on the truth about your meat. One such source is http://www.meetyourmeat.com and we could no longer allow ourselves to be a part of that. Both of my sisters and I have been vegetarian/vegans for years. It is a good thing. I am so beyond grateful that I was awakened from my ignorance and was able to see for myself and feel for myself what was wrong and what was truly right. So as we head into a brand new world I am excited to see how cool and creative my vegan lifestyle will be. I have found so many resources and fun things such as clothing, shoes, accessories, crafts, foods/restaurants, and books that showcase some great vegan ideas.
SO..
In light of the holidays and my new project: Veganism. I’d like to share a vegan gingerbread house recipe!

VEGAN GINGERBREAD RECIPE for GINGERBREAD HOUSES
:
Gingerbread
Line some cookie sheets with parchment paper. Tip: If you don’t have parchment paper, you can actually just use brown grocery bag paper.
Preheat over to 375 F.
In a large pot on low heat, melt:
• 1 cup vegetable shortening
• 1 cup sugar
• 1 cup dark molasses

Remove from heat and mix in:
• 1 tsp. baking soda
• 1/2 tsp. salt
• 2 tsp. cinnamon
• 2 tsp. ginger

Stir in 4 1/2 to 5 cups flour, one cup at a time.
Mix and knead dough until it’s even and smooth, not crumbly or dry. Divide the dough into three pieces; wrap two in plastic wrap while you’re working with one, so they don’t dry out.

Frosting
3 cups of powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 tablespoons of Silk Nog or soy milk
Egg replacer for three eggs

Beat the soy milk, egg replacer and vanilla together, then add powdered sugar and beat until thickened. Add more sugar as needed to thicken the frosting. You might need to make a second batch later, depending on when you decorate and how much frosting you use when decorating—but don’t make it all at once because it’ll just get hard and dry out.

Decorating!
• Lots o’ vegan candy!
• Pretzels, mini shredded wheat (not frosted—it has gelatin in it), chocolate chips, whatever you want!
• Using the frosting, decorate your house with your vegan candy!

Vegan ginghouses

You can find the gingerbread house patterns here

This is just one of the many awesome vegan/veggie related fun things I am bringing you.


Broaden the mind

I will briefly talk about a good read. The book The Celestine Prophecy is the author James Redfield’s spiritual awakening account. It goes into coincidences, energies, personalities and psychological aspects of humans. The way we go about life and many spiritual ideas that have been around for centuries. It is one the first books of its’ kind that I got to read, and I truly enjoyed it. If I’m not mistaken, It is a fiction with non-fictional aspects to it. I invite you read it and have your own experience. I thought it was a lovely book.

A couple of quotes from the book:

“We must assume every event has significance and contains a message that pertains to our questions…this especially applies to what we used to call bad things…the challenge is to find the silver lining in every event, no matter how negative.”

“…Dreams come to tell us something about our lives that we are missing.”

Latin Lovins

The histpanic community lost a beloved entertainment figure earlier this month. So I’d just like to send Jenni Rivera a hott holla. May your spirit play on playa. And I’ll end this with a song and included montage of Ms. Rivera.

Leave a Reply

